Organic Photovoltaics

PI: Prof. Derya Baran, Prof. Thomas Anthopoulos, Prof. Iain McCulloch, Prof. Frederic Laquai

Single junction organic solar cells have exceeded 18% power conversion efficiency using fused ring nonfullerene acceptors (NFAs) in just a couple of years. This has been achieved by judicious design of novel n-type small molecule acceptors matched with available or newly-designed donor polymers as well as by advanced interface and device engineering. These improvements promise application and commercialization of OPV based on nonfullerene acceptors, if in addition to the power conversion efficiency, the scalability and stability of the devices could be increased. Therefore, this project aims to demonstrate record efficiency organic solar cells with novel nonfullerene acceptors for viable organic photovoltaics.

Several KSC research groups provide collective effort aimed at achieving the goals of this project. Specifically, novel nonfullerene-acceptors will be developed, their performance will be optimized and new interface materials will be added to achieve stable devices. The presence of loss processes will be analyzed both qualitatively and quantitatively. Strategies to further boost the performance and stability will be explored. The performance stability of devices will be tested and degradation pathways identified that will then be tackled by rigorous material and device re-design to achieve both high performance and stable devices with photoactive areas beyond 1cm2.

Related Publications

  1. Exploiting Ternary Blends for Improved Photostability in High-Efficiency Organic Solar Cells

    Nicola Gasparini, Sri Harish Kumar Paleti, Jules Bertrandie, Guilong Cai, Guichuan Zhang, Andrew Wadsworth, Xinhui Lu, Hin-Lap Yip, Iain McCulloch, Derya Baran

    ACS Energy Letters, 2020,

  2. 17.1% Efficient Single‐Junction Organic Solar Cells Enabled by n‐Type Doping of the Bulk‐Heterojunction

    Yuanbao Lin, Yuliar Firdaus, Mohamad Insan Nugraha, Feng Liu, Safakath Karuthedath, Abdul‐Hamid Emwas, Weimin Zhang, Akmaral Seitkhan, Marios Neophytou, Hendrik Faber, Emre Yengel, Iain McCulloch, Leonidas Tsetseris, Frédéric Laquai, Thomas D. Anthopoulos

    Advanced Science, 2020

  3. Quantification of Photophysical Processes in All-Polymer Bulk Heterojunction Solar Cells

    Ahmed H. Balawi, Zhipeng Kan, Julien Gorenflot,* Paola Guarracino, Neha Chaturvedi, Alberto Privitera, Shengjian Liu, Yajun Gao, Lorenzo Franco, Pierre Beaujuge, and Frédéric Laquai

    Solar RRL, 2020,

  4. Liquid phase exfoliation of MoS2 and WS2 in aqueous ammonia and their application in highly efficient organic solar cells

    Begimai Adilbekova, Yuanbao Lin, Emre Yengel, Hendrik Faber, George Harrison, Yuliar Firdaus, Abdulrahman El-Labban, Dalaver H. Anjum, Vincent Tung, Thomas D. Anthopoulos

    Journal of Materials Chemistry C, 2020,

  5. Thienyl Sidechain Substitution and Backbone Fluorination of Benzodithiophene-based Donor Polymers Concertedly Minimize Carrier Losses in ITIC-based Organic Solar Cells

    Jafar Iqbal Khan, Yuliar Firdaus, Federico Cruciani, Shengjian Liu, Thomas D. Anthopoulos, Pierre M. Beaujuge, and Frédéric Laquai

    Journal of Physical Chemistry C, 2020,

  6. Buildup of Triplet-State Population in Operating TQ1:PC71BM Devices Does Not Limit Their Performance

    Safakath Karuthedath, Julien Gorenflot,* Armantas Melianas, Zhipeng Kan, Martijn Kemerink, Frédéric Laquai

    J. of Physical Chemistry Letters, 2020,

  7. Novel wide-bandgap non-fullerene acceptors for efficient tandem organic solar cells

    Yuliar Firdaus, Qiao He, Yuanbao Lin, Ferry Anggoro Ardy Nugroho, Vincent M. Le Corre, Emre Yengel, Ahmed H. Balawi, Akmaral Seitkhan, Frederic Laquai, Christoph Langhammer, Feng Liu, Martin Heeney, Thomas D. Anthopoulos

    Journal of Material Chemistry A, 2020,

  8. Deciphering the Role of Fluorination: Morphological Manipulation Prompts Charge Separation and Reduces Carrier Recombination in All‐Small‐Molecule Photovoltaics

    Hua Tang, Cenqi Yan, Safakath Karuthedath, Hang Yin, Yajun Gao, Jie Gao, Lerun Zhang, Jiaming Huang, Shu Kong So, Zhipeng Kan, Frédéric Laquai, Gang Li, Shirong Lu

    Solar RRL, 2020,